Pipe dreams

Leave a comment

October 2, 2012 by Spitfire Bikes

Spitfire Bikes Logo V1

Welcome to the home of Spitfire Bikes, currently  a pipe dream of mine but hopefully to become reality by this time next year. Over the coming months I will publish my thoughts, feelings trials and tribulations of my experiences trying to set up my very own bike company

I’m Dan, a graphic designer with a passion for everything design. I have always loved riding, dismantling and rebuilding bikes, upgrading parts and buying just the frames to build up my perfect ride. With my knowledge of branding, my love for bikes and my desire to have my very own company is driving me to setup Spitfire bikes. The name has come from me being British and wanting something that instantly portrayed that plus my other company expectations of being strong,reliable and simple with bikes that handle well and are nimble on the road and trails. And with 2012 being the year of Britain, the Olympic Games hosted in London, Wiggo (Bradley Wiggins) winning the Tour de France and Andy Murray winning Wimbledon, it feels to me like the perfect name.

I hope that anyone reading this will get involved and give me feedback on everything I post from the name of the company, the design of the branding to any ideas regarding the product as I develop Spitfire Bikes live to my audience. With your input I hope to develop a brand that is able to sustain itself and hopefully grow into an accomplished brand for many years to come.

My bikes (that i hope to produce) will be stripped back to focus on handling and ride quality with big stopping power. They will be the kind of bikes which you can go to work on but more importantly can head to the local trail centre or take a long route home through the woods. Putting an emphasis on fun and hopefully bucking the trend of poor quality singlespeed trendy bikes in wacky colours and overly racy bikes with narrow tyres and a razorblade for a saddle. Its not like they handle well or are ridden at speed by most people. And why feel the need to wear lycra, you are not in a race but out for a leisurely ride, not everyone needs to see you saddle bags.

Leave a comment

October 2012
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Top Posts & Pages

Ass Saver – Genius!
Cardiff bike event
Carry handle
Downloads
News
Reviews
Blog
Rides
Contact